[S1M-2078.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 19 Sep 2001 at 17:01

This looks like the vote on S1M-2078.1

The description in the bulletin on 2001-09-17 is:

*S1M-2078.1 Dr Elaine Murray: Protection of Wild Mammals (Scotland) Bill—As an amendment to motion (S1M-2078) in the name of Mike Watson, leave out from "agrees" to end and insert "does not agree to the general principles of the Protection of Wild Mammals (Scotland) Bill because, while accepting the desire of the sponsors to end cruelty to wild mammals, it does not believe that this Bill adequately addresses the issues presented in evidence to the Rural Development Committee and considers that the Scottish Executive, as an alternative, should examine the existing law in relation to wild mammals, in particular the Wild Mammals (Protection) Act 1996, in order to take action against any unnecessary suffering caused through the provisions of this Act and to bring the legislation covering wild mammals into line with that which applies to domestic animals."

The description in the bulletin on 2001-09-19 is:

S1M-2078.1 Protection of Wild Mammals (Scotland) Bill (lodged on 14 September 2001) Ben Wallace*, Mr Mike Rumbles*, Donald Gorrie*

You can search for this motion (S1M-2078.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The question is, that amendment S1M-2078.1, in the name of Dr Elaine Murray, which seeks to amend motion S1M-2078, in the name of Mike Watson, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con1 180100.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent1 1066.7%
Lab47 4092.7%
LDem4 11093.8%
SNP27 2190.9%
SSP1 00100.0%
Total:82 36193.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John YoungWest of ScotlandConno
Karen GillonClydesdaleLabaye
Trish GodmanWest RenfrewshireLabaye
John Home RobertsonEast LothianLabaye
Elaine MurrayDumfriesLabaye
George LyonArgyll and ButeLDemno
Keith RaffanMid Scotland and FifeLDemno
Tavish ScottShetland IslandsLDemno
Nicol StephenAberdeen SouthLDemno
Fergus EwingInverness East, Nairn and LochaberSNPaye
Duncan HamiltonHighlands and IslandsSNPaye
Andrew WilsonCentral ScotlandSNPabstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive