Relationships (Civil Registration) — 24 Oct 2001 at 18:03

I beg to move,

That leave be given to bring in a Bill to provide for civil registration of a relationship between two people who are cohabiting, and for such registration to afford certain legal rights; and for connected purposes.

Question put, pursuant to Standing Order No. 23 (Motions for leave to bring in Bills and nomination of Select Committees at commencement of public business):-

Those voting Aye in this division were in favour of bringing a bill before parliament that gave additional rights to unmarried, cohabiting couples.

The House divided: Ayes 179, Noes 59.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con4 40 (+2 tell)028.0%
DUP0 50100.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab130 (+1 tell) 10034.4%
LDem40 (+1 tell) 0078.8%
PC4 00100.0%
UUP0 4066.7%
Total:179 59037.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Richard BaconSouth NorfolkCon (front bench)aye
Michael FabricantLichfieldConaye
Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConaye
Douglas HoggSleaford and North HykehamConaye
Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLab (minister)no
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabno
George HowarthKnowsley North and Sefton EastLabno
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabno
Eric MartlewCarlisleLabno
George MudieLeeds EastLab (minister)no
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabno
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno
Mr David StewartInverness East, Nairn and LochaberLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive