[S1M-2340.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 24 Oct 2001 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S1M-2340.1

The description in the bulletin on 2001-10-24 is:

*S1M-2340.1 Fiona Hyslop: Membership of the Committee of the Regions—As an amendment to motion (S1M-2340) in the name of Mr Tom McCabe, leave out from "endorses" to end and insert "supports the Committee of the Regions as an institution of European co-operation based on the role of regional government and in promoting the regions of Scotland in that role proposes that the full and alternate members representing Scotland are elected members of Scotland’s local authorities including Councillor Christine May and Councillor Keith Brown as full members and Councillor Corrie McChord and Councillor Hugh Halcro-Johnston as alternate members and instructs the Executive to return to the Parliament with four additional names of councillors as nominees." Supported by: Michael Russell*

The description in the bulletin on 2001-10-26 is:

S1M-2340.1 Membership of the Committee of the Regions (lodged on 23 October 2001) Mr Adam Ingram*, Mr Lloyd Quinan*, Mr Gil Paterson*

You can search for this motion (S1M-2340.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The third question is, that amendment S1M-2340.1, in the name of Fiona Hyslop, which seeks to amend motion S1M-2340, in the name of Tom McCabe, on membership of the Committee of the Regions, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con15 0078.9%
Green0 01100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab46 1085.5%
LDem12 0075.0%
SNP0 26078.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:73 31182.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Irene OldfatherCunninghame SouthLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive