[S1M-2344] Decision Time — 25 Oct 2001 at 17:05

This looks like the vote on S1M-2344

The description in the bulletin on 2001-10-24 is:

*S1M-2344 Andrew Wilson: Railway Investment—That the Parliament welcomes the desire of the Minister for Transport and Planning to increase investment in Scottish railways; notes that with the collapse of Railtrack plc there is an opportunity to introduce an innovative system of ownership and management for Scotland’s railway network that takes advantage of the good partnership that exists across the railway sector in Scotland, and calls upon the Scottish Executive and all interested parties in Scotland to work together in the Scottish national interest to (a) re-examine the financial and policy powers at the disposal of the Scottish Ministers with respect to railways investment and (b) develop an ownership and investment vehicle for Railtrack assets in Scotland that maximises both public accountability and investment in Scotland’s railways in the public interest and on a not for profit basis.

The description in the bulletin on 2001-10-25 is:

S1M-2344 Railway Investment (lodged on 23 October 2001) Michael Russell*

The description in the bulletin on 2001-10-26 is:

S1M-2344 Railway Investment (lodged on 23 October 2001) Mr Adam Ingram*, Mr Lloyd Quinan*, Mr Gil Paterson*

You can search for this motion (S1M-2344) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The second question is, that motion S1M-2344, in the name of Andrew Wilson, on railway investment, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 01894.7%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent1 02100.0%
Lab51 0092.7%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP0 12681.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:66 24689.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

George ReidMid Scotland and FifeSNPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive