Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Bill — Clauses 79 to 87 — Fissile Nuclear Material, Aviation Security — 26 Nov 2001 at 19:45

The Aye-voters agreed that Clauses 79 to 87 of the Anti-Terrorism, Crime and Security Bill should be part of the proposed law without any changes.

Clause 79 makes it illegal to disclose the whereabouts of fissile nuclear material that prejudices the security on a site.

Clause 80 allows the Secretary of State to make rules that prohibit publishing information about Uranium enrichment technology.

Clause 81 explains how clauses 79 and 80 apply to the different parts of the United Kingdom.

Clauses 82-85 changes the Police and Criminal Evidence Act, the Civil Aviation Act, and the Aviation Security Act to allow the arrest and removal of a an intruder in an aircraft or aerodrome.

Clause 86 changes the Aviation Security Act 1982 to allow an authorized person to detain an aircraft if it breaks an order or if there is likely to be an act of violence.

Clause 87 changes the Aviation Security Act 1982 to make it illegal to issue false papers for an item of air cargo.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 201.2%
DUP3 0060.0%
Lab330 (+2 tell) 3081.5%
LDem0 45 (+2 tell)090.4%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 1020.0%
UUP1 0016.7%
Total:334 55060.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
George GallowayGlasgow Kelvinwhilst Labno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive