[S1M-2487.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 29 Nov 2001 at 17:09

This looks like the vote on S1M-2487.1

The description in the bulletin on 2001-11-29 is:

*S1M-2487.1 Peter Peacock: Proportional Representation in Local Government Elections—As an amendment to motion (S1M-2487) in the name of Tricia Marwick, leave out from "approves" to end and insert "notes the Scottish Executive’s continuing commitment to the pledge made in its Programme for Government to make progress on electoral reform, to the principles of renewing local democracy as set out in the Kerley report, including the importance of the member/ward link in local government, to the need to secure general consent and wide support for the system of electing local councils and to producing a timetable for further progress with urgency." Supported by: Euan Robson*

You can search for this motion (S1M-2487.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that amendment S1M-2487.1, in the name of Peter Peacock, which seeks to amend motion S1M-2487, in the name of Tricia Marwick, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 01578.9%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab52 0094.5%
LDem14 0087.5%
SNP0 29087.9%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:66 341589.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive