Lords Amendment — 13 Dec 2001 at 16:13

5 Clause 17, page 7, line 7, after Xauthority" insert Xto a relevant public authority"

The Commons disagreed to this amendment for the following reason:

5A Because it is not appropriate to limit the power conferred by this clause in the manner proposed by the amendment.

rose to move, as an amendment to the Motion that the House do not insist on their Amendment No. 5 to which the Commons have disagreed and do propose Amendment No. 5B in lieu thereof, leave out the words after XHouse" and insert Xdo insist on their Amendment No. 5".

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 5C) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 66; Not-Contents, 157.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 03.7%
Con2 84.3%
Crossbench26 618.3%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab126 (+2 tell) 164.5%
LDem0 47 (+2 tell)74.2%
Total:155 6431.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Blackwell Conno
Lord Macfarlane of BearsdenConno
Lord Bridges Crossbenchaye
Lord Cobbold Crossbenchaye
Lord Hussey of North BradleyCrossbenchaye
Lord Monson Crossbenchaye
Lord Rees-Mogg Crossbenchaye
Lord Thomas of SwynnertonCrossbenchaye
Lord Mishcon Labaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive