[S1M-2577] Decision Time — 10 Jan 2002 at 17:03

This looks like the vote on S1M-2577

The description in the bulletin on 2002-01-08 is:

*S1M-2577 Alex Fergusson: Foot-and-Mouth Disease - Public Inquiry-That the Parliament calls on the Scottish Executive to instigate a full open public inquiry, either under its aegis or preferably as a distinct part of a full UK inquiry, into the impact of, preparations for and handling of the foot-and-mouth disease outbreak in Scotland, and the economic recovery measures put in place by the Executive and Her Majesty's Government, in order to ensure that lessons are learnt about the appropriate response to any future outbreak.

You can search for this motion (S1M-2577) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The seventh question is, that motion S1M-2577, as amended, in the name of Alex Fergusson, on foot-and-mouth disease, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16084.2%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab50 1092.7%
LDem14 0087.5%
SNP0 29087.9%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:64 51089.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mike WatsonGlasgow CathcartLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive