[S1M-2631.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 24 Jan 2002 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S1M-2631.2

The description in the bulletin on 2002-01-24 is:

*S1M-2631.2 Peter Peacock: Abolition of Council Tax-As an amendment to motion (S1M-2631) in the name of Tommy Sheridan, leave out from first "believes" to end and insert "welcomes the substantial reforms that the Scottish Executive has brought to the operation of local government finance, including the stability for three year council tax figures and welcomes the Executive's commitment to pursue further reforms; further welcomes the fact that councils are now collecting a higher proportion of council tax than ever before and the continuing work by the Executive and local authorities to better target and further improve collection arrangements, and notes that the Local Government Committee of the Parliament will shortly conclude its inquiry into local government finance and local taxation. Supported by: Mr Andy Kerr*

You can search for this motion (S1M-2631.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that amendment S1M-2631.2, in the name of Peter Peacock, which seeks to amend the motion S1M-2631, in the name of Tommy Sheridan, on the abolition of council tax, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 18094.7%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 12100.0%
Lab47 0085.5%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP0 02884.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:60 213086.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive