[S1M-2632] Decision Time — 24 Jan 2002 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S1M-2632

The description in the bulletin on 2002-01-23 is:

*S1M-2632 Tommy Sheridan: Introduction of Progressive Water Tax-That the Parliament believes that water and sewerage services are essential services which should be publicly owned and democratically controlled for the benefit of all Scotland's citizens; further believes that water and sewerage service charges to domestic customers should be paid for by using an income-based personal tax which would be progressive, efficient and easily understood; therefore endorses the replacement of the current unfair water rate system for domestic customers with a new individual income-based water tax that would be fair and redistributive, while raising more revenue for Scotland's water and sewerage services, and notes that this new Water Tax would be collected by the Inland Revenue in Scotland on behalf of the Scottish water industry.

You can search for this motion (S1M-2632) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that amendment S1M-2632, in the name of Tommy Sheridan, on the introduction of progressive water tax, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 01894.7%
Green0 01100.0%
Independent0 0266.7%
Lab48 0087.3%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP0 22684.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:61 34786.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Shona RobisonNorth East ScotlandSNPno
Nicola SturgeonGlasgowSNPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive