Post Office — Condemnation of government mismanagement — rejected — 29 Jan 2002 at 21:46

The majority of MPs voted to reject the motion before Parliament:[1]

  • This House
  • notes that under this Government the Post Office has gone from a profitable organisation to a business that is making half-yearly operating losses of £100 million, has the worst strike record of any business in the country and is consistently failing to meet its delivery targets;
  • deplores its reported intention to abandon its morning delivery guarantee; condemns the Government for retaining Consignia in full public ownership while at the same time refusing to take any responsibility for its failures;
  • further notes that in the last financial year another 547 sub post offices closed;
  • regrets the Government's determination to press ahead with the withdrawal of benefit payments across the counter despite its failure to put in place any alternative source of income, thus threatening the survival of thousands more; and
  • further condemns the Government's total mismanagement, which has created the crisis that is facing the Post Office today.

An alternative motion was proposed in its place and voted through.[2]

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 139 (+2 tell)086.0%
DUP0 3060.0%
Lab313 (+2 tell) 0077.0%
LDem0 43081.1%
PC3 0075.0%
SNP5 00100.0%
UUP3 0050.0%
Total:324 185079.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive