Education Bill — Remove regulations concerning Annual Parents' Meetings — 14 May 2002 at 15:38

The majority Content voters passed an amendment[1] to the Education Bill. The vote removed subsection (2) of a clause entitled 'Annual Parents' Meetings'[2]. This subsection described how schools should conduct these types of meetings.

However, even though this subsection was removed in this vote a modified version of the subsection ended up becoming law when the Education Bill 2002 received Royal Assent on 24th July 2002. As you will see from this debate the Commons disagreed with the amendment that was passed in this particular division. The Commons then proposed an alternative amendment which the Lords agreed to.

The main aims of the Education Bill were to[3]:

  • Allow schools to exempt themselves from laws which prevented them from innovating. However, this is dependent on the Secretary of State's approval.
  • Give good schools the option of qualifying for greater flexibility in the National Curriculum and teachers' pay.
  • Allow schools to join together in a federation under a single governing body.
  • Further regulate school admissions, exclusions and attendance policies.
  • Give the Secretary of State further powers to intervene in failing schools.
  • Introduce a new regulatory regime for independent schools.


Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 03.7%
Con80 (+2 tell) 036.3%
Crossbench13 610.8%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 110 (+2 tell)57.1%
LDem31 047.0%
Total:126 11735.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Bhatia Crossbenchno
Lord Boston of FavershamCrossbenchno
Lord Hussey of North BradleyCrossbenchno
Lord Moser Crossbenchno
Viscount Tenby Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Weatherill Crossbench (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive