[S1M-3155] Decision Time — 29 May 2002 at 16:52

This looks like the vote on S1M-3155

The description in the bulletin on 2002-05-28 is:

*S1M-3155 Lewis Macdonald: Potential Benefits to the Scottish Economy of the Planned Energy Research Institute and of the Diversification of the Offshore Oil and Gas Industry-That the Parliament welcomes the decision by Scottish Enterprise to work up detailed plans for an Energy Research Institute in Scotland to commercialise the work of Scotland's universities across the energy field; endorses the policy of support for offshore renewable energy developments on the part of the Executive and the Enterprise Networks, and notes the significant potential for the oil and gas industry to diversify into marine renewable energy technology. Supported by: Iain Gray*

You can search for this motion (S1M-3155) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is, that motion S1M-3155, in the name of Lewis Macdonald, as amended by the amended amendment, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division. Members who want to support the much-amended motion should press their yes button now.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 17089.5%
Green0 01100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab51 0092.7%
LDem13 0187.5%
SNP0 31093.9%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:64 52292.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John Farquhar MunroRoss, Skye and Inverness WestLDemabstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive