Education Bill — Exemption of Innovative Projects from legislation — rejected — 17 Jun 2002 at 16:09

The majority Not-Content voters rejected an amendment[1] to the Education Bill. The amendment would have allowed governing bodies to exempt innovative projects from education legislation. However, the Secretary of State could designate education legislation that they felt governing bodies should not be allowed to exempt themselves from. Nevertheless, the amendment was defeated.

The Education Bill already gives schools the option of exempting themselves from legislation to allow them to innovate. However, each time they wanted to do this they would have to apply to the Secretary of State.

Other aims of the Education Bill were to[2]:

  • Give good schools the option of qualifying for greater flexibility in the National Curriculum and teachers' pay.
  • Allow schools to join together in a federation under a single governing body.
  • Further regulate school admissions, exclusions and attendance policies.
  • Give the Secretary of State further powers to intervene in failing schools.
  • Introduce a new regulatory regime for independent schools.


Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop2 07.7%
Con0 73 (+1 tell)32.9%
Crossbench23 415.3%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Socialist1 0100.0%
Lab112 (+2 tell) 058.2%
LDem0 35 (+1 tell)54.5%
Total:138 11336.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Lord Brabazon of TaraCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbenchaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive