Education Bill — 26 Jun 2002 at 16:59

[Amendment No. 107 not moved.]

moved Amendment No. 108:

After Clause 67, insert the following new clause-


After section 113 of the Learning and Skills Act 2000 (c. 21) (inadequate sixth-forms) there is inserted-


(1) Where the Learning and Skills Council for England proposes a change in sixth-form provision, there shall be a presumption that a school sixth-form will not be closed where the governing body of the school proposes that it should continue and believes that it contributes to the success of the school as a whole.

(2) Subsection (1) shall not apply if an inspection has shown that education for those above compulsory school age is of an unacceptable standard.

(3) A maintained school which provides education for pupils above compulsory school age but below the age of nineteen may submit proposals to the relevant authority to increase the number of sixth-form places, and the relevant authority shall provide funding for those places at the same rate per capita as for the existing places, provided that the schools can demonstrate sufficient demand for those places.""

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 108) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 130; Not-Contents, 132.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con0 88 (+1 tell)39.7%
Crossbench5 1310.3%
Independent Socialist1 0100.0%
Lab124 (+2 tell) 064.3%
LDem0 26 (+1 tell)40.9%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:130 12839.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Lord Bhatia Crossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbenchno
Lord May of OxfordCrossbenchno
Lord Northbourne Crossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive