Procedure of the House: Select Committee Report — 24 Jul 2002 at 19:03

[Amendment No. 4 not moved.]

moved Amendment No. 5:

Page 4, line 7, leave out "We recommend that the House should now take this endorsement a stage further and agree to Group recommendation (b)," and insert "We reject Group recommendation (b) and recommend that no changes be made to the present practice on carry-over."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 5) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 43; Not-Contents, 177.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con29 39 (+1 tell)30.8%
Crossbench13 1 (+1 tell)8.7%
Lab112 (+1 tell) 057.7%
LDem20 (+1 tell) 031.8%
Total:174 4033.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Biffen Conno
Lord Blaker Conno
Lord Boardman Conno
Viscount Bridgeman Con (front bench)no
Baroness Byford Conno
Lord Colwyn Con (front bench)no
Lord Cope of BerkeleyCon (front bench)no
Baroness Elles Conno
Lord Elton Con (front bench)no
Baroness Flather Conno
Lord Gray of ContinConno
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConno
Lord Howe of AberavonCon (front bench)no
Lord Jenkin of RodingConno
Lord MacGregor of Pulham MarketCon (front bench)no
Lord Marlesford Conno
Lord Mowbray and Stourton Conno
Lord Norton of LouthCon (front bench)no
Baroness O'Cathain Con (front bench)no
Baroness Park of MonmouthConno
Lord Pilkington of OxenfordCon (front bench)no
Lord Pym Conno
Baroness Rawlings Con (front bench)no
Lord Rotherwick Conno
Baroness Sharples Conno
Lord Stewartby Conno
Lord Strathclyde Con (front bench)no
Baroness Trumpington Con (front bench)no
Lord Tugendhat Conno
Lord Waddington Con (front bench)no
Lord Chalfont Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lady Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbench (front bench)tellaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive