Nationality, Immigration and Asylum Bill — Asylum seekers with children of school age should be placed in accommodation centres only if no places are available in local schools — 9 Oct 2002 at 20:36

The majority Content voters passed an amendment[1] to the Nationality, Immigration and Asylum Bill. The amendment requires that asylum seekers with children of school age should be placed in accommodation centres only if no places are available in local schools.

However, before the Bill finally became law the amendment was removed[2].

The Nationality, Immigration and Asylum Bill became law in 2002. Its main aims were to:[3]

  • Allow asylum seekers to be detained at any time
  • Disallow appeals from within the UK from failed asylum seekers who are citizens of a specific country
  • Deny asylum seekers support unless they make their claim "as soon as reasonably practicable" after arrival into the UK
  • Create accommodation centres to house destitute asylum seekers


Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 (+1 tell) 012.5%
Con12 15.9%
Crossbench16 210.5%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab4 76 (+2 tell)41.8%
LDem45 (+1 tell) 069.7%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:81 8024.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Clinton-Davis Lab (minister)aye
Lord Judd Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Lord Monson Crossbenchno
Lord Parekh Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Park of MonmouthConno
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive