Animal Health Bill — 29 Oct 2002 at 16:52

[Amendment No. 41 had been withdrawn from the Marshalled List.]

Clause 13 [Annual review of import controls]:

moved Amendment No. 42:

Leave out Clause 13 and insert the following new Clause-


In section 80 of the 1981 Act (annual return to Parliament) in subsection (2) for the word "and" after paragraph (a) there is substituted the following paragraph-

"(aa) contain such information as the Secretary of State and the National Assembly for Wales (acting jointly) think appropriate as to the measures taken to prevent the introduction of disease into England and Wales through the importation of the things mentioned in paragraphs (a) to (c) of section 10(1);"."

moved, as an amendment to Amendment No. 42, Amendment No. 42A:

Line 8, after "taken" insert "by government departments and agencies and other public bodies"

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 42A) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 182; Not-Contents, 129.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con103 (+2 tell) 047.3%
Crossbench21 213.4%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Socialist0 1100.0%
Lab1 124 (+2 tell)65.1%
LDem51 077.3%
Total:178 12745.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Boston of FavershamCrossbenchno
Lord Chan Crossbenchno
Lord Bruce of DoningtonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive