Animal Health Bill — 29 Oct 2002 at 17:45

moved, as an amendment to Amendment No. 44, Amendment No. 44B:

Line 11, at end insert-

"( ) The appropriate authority shall include-

(a) a three-yearly review of the world-wide incidence of each of the diseases listed in Schedule 2A;

(b) the resultant recommendation of steps to be taken in the United Kingdom to prevent the incidence of each disease listed in Schedule 2A;

(c) the incorporation of the steps identified in paragraph (b) into the national contingency plan;

(d) the implementation of the contingency plan upon the outbreak of any disease;

(e) the monitoring of the implementation of the contingency plan.

( ) The appropriate authority may investigate, recommend and implement vaccination programmes-

(a) for the emergency control of any disease listed in Schedule 2A in any animal species; and

(b) for the permanent control of all such diseases in animals in particular circumstances."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 44B) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 179; Not-Contents, 133.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con102 (+2 tell) 046.8%
Crossbench18 312.2%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab1 128 (+2 tell)67.2%
LDem50 075.8%
Other1 025.0%
Total:175 13145.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Boston of FavershamCrossbenchno
Lord Chan Crossbenchno
Lord Jauncey of TullichettleCrossbenchno
Lord Bruce of DoningtonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive