[S1M-3507.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 31 Oct 2002 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S1M-3507.1

The description in the bulletin on 2002-10-31 is:

*S1M-3507.1 Mike Watson: Broadcasting and the Media—As an amendment to motion (S1M-3507) in the name of Michael Russell, leave out from "and expresses" to end and insert "; recognises the importance to Scotland of UK, Scottish and regional television programming and production; believes that these interests are enhanced by diversity in media ownership, and believes that it is vital that the relevant regulatory bodies reflect those Scottish interests in respect of UK broadcasting regulations and other media matters." Supported by: Dr Elaine Murray*

You can search for this motion (S1M-3507.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

There are 11 questions to be put as a result of today's business, so let us please concentrate. The first question is, that amendment S1M-3507.1, in the name of Mike Watson, which seeks to amend the motion in the name of Michael Russell, on broadcasting and the media in Scotland, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 17089.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab52 0094.5%
LDem13 1087.5%
SNP0 27081.8%
SSP0 01100.0%
Total:65 49189.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

George LyonArgyll and ButeLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive