[S1M-3570.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 14 Nov 2002 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S1M-3570.2

The description in the bulletin on 2002-11-14 is:

*S1M-3570.2 Ms Margaret Curran: Poverty-As an amendment to motion (S1M-3570) in the name of Mr Kenneth Gibson, leave out from "deplores" to end and insert "supports the Scottish Executive's plans to tackle poverty as set out in Closing the Opportunity Gap: Scottish Budget 2003-2006; agrees that the definition of poverty extends beyond low income to include lack of opportunity in aspects of people's lives such as jobs, health, education, transport and housing, and welcomes the progress that the Executive is making in tackling poverty in the broadest sense, in order to close the opportunity gap for the most disadvantaged people and communities, both urban and rural, across Scotland." Supported by: Hugh Henry*

You can search for this motion (S1M-3570.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that amendment S1M-3570.2, in the name of Margaret Curran, which seeks to amend motion S1M-3570, in the name of Kenneth Gibson, on poverty, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 11057.9%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent0 0133.3%
Lab46 1085.5%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP1 26081.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:61 39178.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Elaine MurrayDumfriesLabno
Fiona HyslopLothiansSNPaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive