[S1M-3678.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 5 Dec 2002 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S1M-3678.1

The description in the bulletin on 2002-12-05 is:

*S1M-3678.1 Richard Lochhead: The Future of Europe Convention - The Scottish Dimension-As an amendment to motion (S1M-3678) in the name of Mr Jim Wallace, leave out from "Scottish Executive's" to end and insert "Convention's proposal for a constitution or constitutional treaty for the European Union which will delimit the powers of the EU and member states; believes that the people of Scotland must be given the opportunity to approve any such treaty in a referendum; supports the Liege Declaration and the European Committee's calls for powers for sub-member state legislatures that would give Scotland full access to the European Court of Justice; urges the Scottish Executive to actively pursue this objective, and recognises that the most effective representation in the EU for small nations like Scotland is gained by full membership." Supported by: Mr Duncan Hamilton*, Andrew Wilson*

You can search for this motion (S1M-3678.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fifth question is, that amendment S1M-3678.1, in the name of Richard Lochhead, which seeks to amend motion S1M-3678, in the name of Mr Jim Wallace, on the future of Europe convention-the Scottish dimension, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con17 0089.5%
Green0 01100.0%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab48 0087.3%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP0 24072.7%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:80 27184.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive