[S1M-3811] Decision Time — 30 Jan 2003 at 17:03

This looks like the vote on S1M-3811

The description in the bulletin on 2003-01-28 is:

*S1M-3811 Tommy Sheridan: Support for the February 15 Anti-War on Iraq Demonstration in Glasgow-That the Parliament notes the organisations that support the Scottish Coalition for Justice Not War that include the Scottish Trades Union Congress, Scottish UNISON, Scottish UCATT, Fire Brigades Union, Scottish Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament, the Scottish Quakers, Iona Community, Trident Ploughshares, Faslane Peace Camp, Church and Nation Committee Church of Scotland, Roman Catholic Justice and Peace Commission, Christian Aid, Scottish United Nations Association, Campaign for Palestinian Rights, Scottish Palestinian Solidarity Campaign, Islamic Society of Britain, UK Islamic Mission, Muslim Association of Britain, Glasgow Refugee Action Group, Chhokar Family Campaign, Scottish Green Party, Labour Party Campaign for Socialism, Labour Campaign for Justice Not War, Scottish Socialist Party, Communist Party of Britain, Communist Party of Scotland, Democratic Left Scotland, Globalise Resistance, Socialist Labour Party, Campaign to Welcome Refugees, Scottish Centre for Non-Violence and Finance Workers Broad Left; agrees to support the demonstration on 15 February 2003 in Glasgow called by the Scottish Coalition for Justice Not War against attacking Iraq, and believes that waging world-wide war against poverty and injustice would deliver a more stable, peaceful and just world than a war waged on Iraq with the resultant loss of innocent Iraqi citizens' lives.

You can search for this motion (S1M-3811) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that motion S1M-3811, in the name of Tommy Sheridan, on support for the anti-war on Iraq demonstration in Glasgow, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con14 0073.7%
Independent2 10100.0%
Lab50 2094.5%
LDem12 0075.0%
SNP27 0081.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:105 4085.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John McAllionDundee EastLabno
Elaine SmithCoatbridge and ChrystonLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive