House of Lords Reform — 60 per cent appointed/40 per cent elected — 4 Feb 2003 at 16:34

That this House approves Option 5 (60 per cent appointed/40 per cent elected) p>

On Question, Whether the said Motion (Option 5) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 60; Not-Contents, 358.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop6 025.0%
Con130 (+1 tell) 1466.8%
Crossbench81 952.3%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab101 (+1 tell) 22 (+1 tell)64.4%
LDem33 13 (+1 tell)72.3%
Total:353 5861.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alexander of WeedonConaye
Lord Baker of DorkingCon (front bench)aye
Baroness Chalker of WallaseyConaye
Baroness Gardner of ParkesCon (front bench)aye
Lord Henley Conaye
Lord Hurd of WestwellConaye
Earl Jellicoe Conaye
Lord Lucas Con (front bench)aye
The Earl of OnslowConaye
Lord Prior Con (front bench)aye
Lord Quinton Conaye
Lord Renton of Mount HarryConaye
The Earl of SelborneCon (front bench)aye
Lord Wolfson Conaye
Lord Adebowale Crossbenchaye
Viscount Bledisloe Crossbenchaye
Lord Freyberg Crossbenchaye
Lord Lloyd of BerwickCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord May of OxfordCrossbenchaye
Lord Northbourne Crossbenchaye
Baroness O'Neill of BengarveCrossbenchaye
Lord Thomas of SwynnertonCrossbenchaye
Lord Wilson of TillyornCrossbenchaye
Lord Berkeley Labaye
Lord Brooke of AlverthorpeLab (minister)aye
Viscount Chandos Labaye
Lord Davies of OldhamLab (minister)aye
Lord Dormand of EasingtonLabaye
Lord Dubs Lab (minister)aye
Lord Evans of Temple GuitingLabaye
Lord Fyfe of FairfieldLabaye
Baroness Gale Lab (minister)aye
Lord Graham of EdmontonLab (minister)tellaye
Lord Hoyle Labaye
Baroness Jay of PaddingtonLabaye
Lord Mitchell Lab (minister)aye
Lord Parekh Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Pitkeathley Lab (minister)aye
Lord Prys-Davies Labaye
Lord Rea Lab (minister)aye
Lord Richard Labaye
Lord Sawyer Labaye
Lord Stone of BlackheathLabaye
Baroness Uddin Labaye
Baroness Warwick of UndercliffeLab (minister)aye
Baroness Whitaker Lab (minister)aye
Lord Addington LDemaye
Lord Alderdice LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Dholakia LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Goodhart LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Holme of CheltenhamLDemaye
Baroness Ludford LDemaye
Lord McNally LDemaye
Lord Oakeshott of Seagrove BayLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Perry of WaltonLDemaye
Lord Rennard LDemaye
Lord Roper LDem (front bench)tellaye
Earl Russell LDemaye
Lord Wallace of SaltaireLDem (front bench)aye
Baroness Williams of CrosbyLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive