House of Lords Reform — 80 per cent appointed/20 per cent elected — 4 Feb 2003 at 15:56

That this House approves Option 3 (80 per cent appointed/20 per cent elected)

On Question, Whether the said Motion (Option 3) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 39; Not-Contents, 375.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop2 425.0%
Con131 (+1 tell) 864.5%
Crossbench81 7 (+1 tell)51.7%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab108 (+1 tell) 14 (+1 tell)63.9%
LDem46 375.4%
Total:370 3660.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Archer of SandwellLab (minister)aye
Lord Berkeley Labaye
Lord Brooke of AlverthorpeLab (minister)aye
Lord Butler of BrockwellCrossbenchtellaye
Baroness Chalker of WallaseyConaye
The Bishop of ChesterBishopno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Davies of OldhamLab (minister)aye
Baroness Dean of Thornton-le-FyldeLabaye
Baroness Gale Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Gardner of ParkesCon (front bench)aye
Lord Graham of EdmontonLab (minister)tellaye
Lord Greenway Crossbench (front bench)aye
The Bishop of GuildfordBishopno
Lord Hannay of ChiswickCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Hoyle Labaye
Lord Hurd of WestwellConaye
Earl Jellicoe Conaye
Lord Lamont of LerwickCon (front bench)aye
Lord May of OxfordCrossbenchaye
Lord Mitchell Lab (minister)aye
Lord Montagu of BeaulieuConaye
The Duke of MontroseConaye
Lord Perry of WaltonLDemaye
Lord Phillips of SudburyLDem (front bench)aye
Baroness Pitkeathley Lab (minister)aye
Lord Rennard LDemaye
Lord Sawyer Labaye
Lord St John of BletsoCrossbenchaye
Lord Stone of BlackheathLabaye
Lord Thomas of SwynnertonCrossbenchaye
Baroness Uddin Labaye
Lord Wakeham Conaye
Lord Warner Labaye
Baroness Warwick of UndercliffeLab (minister)aye
Baroness Whitaker Lab (minister)aye
Lord Wilson of TillyornCrossbenchaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive