Waste and Emissions Trading Bill [HL] — 6 Mar 2003 at 12:17

Clause 16 [Registers: public access]:

[Amendments Nos. 10 and 11 not moved.]

Clause 17 [Strategy for England]:

had given notice of his intention to move Amendment No. 12:

Page 11, line 35, at end insert-

"( ) The measures mentioned in subsection (2) must include measures to reduce non-municipal biodegradable waste going to landfill."

[Amendment No. 12 not moved.]

moved Amendment No. 13:

Page 11, line 35, at end insert-

"( ) Within the context of the strategy required by section 16, a duty shall be placed on a waste disposal authority and a waste collection authority within a given area to produce and publish a Joint Municipal Waste Strategy.

( ) Within the context of the Joint Municipal Waste Strategy, a waste disposal authority may exercise a power of direction to a waste collection authority to specify the type of segregated waste to be delivered in support of meeting agreed targets for the recovery and recycling of dry recyclable material and biodegradable waste."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 13) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 115; Not-Contents, 99.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con80 (+2 tell) 037.8%
Crossbench6 88.2%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab0 89 (+2 tell)46.9%
LDem26 040.0%
Total:113 9733.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Viscount Allenby of MegiddoCrossbenchaye
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Lord Ampthill Crossbenchaye
Lord Greenway Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Molyneaux of KilleadCrossbenchaye
Lady Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbench (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive