Local Government Bill — New Clause 11 — Repeal of Section 2A of Local Government Act 1986 — 10 Mar 2003 at 19:15

The majority of MPs voted against requiring reports on the impact of repealing a ban on the promotion of homosexuality in schools.

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote was titled: Repeal of Section 2A of Local Government Act 1986 and stated:

  • 'The Secretary of State shall lay before Parliament within 24 months of the coming into force of section 119 and at intervals of 24 months thereafter a report containing information on the effect of the operation of that section on—
  • (a) the adherence to guidance issued under section 403(1A) of the Education Act 1996 (c. 96);
  • (b) the operation of the provisions of section 404 of that Act; and
  • (c) the numbers of parents withdrawing their children from sex education pursuant to section 405 of that Act.'.

Clause 119 of the Bill became clause 122 in the Act[1] and stated:


Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con7 122 (+2 tell)080.4%
Independent1 00100.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab304 (+2 tell) 3075.4%
LDem39 0073.6%
PC4 00100.0%
UUP1 1033.3%
Total:356 127076.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John BercowBuckinghamConno
David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConno
Robert JacksonWantagewhilst Conno
Robert KeySalisburyConno
Andrew MurrisonWestburyCon (front bench)no
Mr Archie NormanTunbridge WellsConno
Joe BentonBootleLab (minister)aye
David CrausbyBolton North EastLab (minister)aye
Stephen HepburnJarrowLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive