Regional Assemblies (Preparations) Bill — 24 Mar 2003 at 18:20

moved Amendment No. 55:

After Clause 5, insert the following new clause-


(1) This section applies if an elected assembly for a region has been established pursuant to a referendum held under section 1(1).

(2) The Secretary of State shall by order cause a further referendum to be held in a region specified in the order if he is presented with a petition requesting such a referendum signed by not less than 5 per cent of the electors eligible to vote in the region as defined in section 3(1).

(3) The question to be asked in a referendum held pursuant to an order under subsection (2) is the question set out in section 2(1)."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 55) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 78; Not-Contents, 142.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con0 67 (+2 tell)32.4%
Crossbench5 77.1%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab108 (+2 tell) 058.2%
LDem26 040.0%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:140 7634.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord St John of BletsoCrossbenchno
Viscount Tenby Crossbenchno
Lord Weatherill Crossbench (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive