Railways and Transport Safety Bill — 3 Jul 2003 at 15:51

Proceedings after Third Reading resumed.

moved Amendment No. 8:

After Clause 106, insert the following new clause-


Schedule (Road traffic: testing for drink and drugs) shall have effect."

On Question, amendment agreed to.

[Amendment No. 9 not moved.]

moved Amendment No. 10:

After Clause 108, insert the following new clause-


(1) In the interest of public health and safety, subsections (2) to (4) shall have effect.

(2) The Secretary of State shall within one year from the coming into force of this enactment make a permanent Traffic Regulation Order to prohibit the use of non-essential mechanically propelled vehicles on the National Trails.

(3) Non-essential mechanically propelled vehicles shall mean all such vehicles but shall not include those driven by individuals with an estate or interest in land adjoining the Trail or their lawful visitors or emergency vehicles.

(4) A Traffic Regulation Order shall mean an order as defined in the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984 and as subsequently amended."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 10) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 132; Not-Contents, 110.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con72 033.5%
Crossbench13 611.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Independent Socialist0 1100.0%
Lab1 100 (+2 tell)53.1%
LDem42 (+2 tell) 067.7%
Total:129 10737.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Ampthill Crossbenchno
Lord Chan Crossbenchno
Lord Croham Crossbenchno
Lord Marsh Crossbenchno
Lord Roll of IpsdenCrossbenchno
Viscount Slim Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Berkeley Labaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive