[S2M-287] Decision Time — 3 Sep 2003 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-287

The description in the bulletin on 2003-09-02 is:

*S2M-287 Mr Jim Wallace: The Scottish Economy—That the Parliament supports the objective of achieving long term, sustainable growth in the Scottish economy; endorses the Scottish Executive's strategy, set out in Smart, Successful Scotland and A Partnership for A Better Scotland, as the best means of helping to achieve this growth; welcomes the support of Scottish business and academia for this strategy; recognises the need to create a spirit of entrepreneurship, promote innovations and encourage sensible risk taking; believes this can be achieved by building on the strength of our education system and research and development capability and through development of specific initiatives such as Enterprise in Education and the Green Jobs Strategy; reaffirms the Scottish Executive's commitment to remain focused on the delivery of this strategy while being responsive to ways in which it can be enhanced and refined, and looks forward to delivering increased prosperity as the basis for first-class service and a socially just Scotland.

You can search for this motion (S2M-287) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is, that motion S2M-287, in the name of Jim Wallace, on the Scottish economy, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16088.9%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab47 0094.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP0 24092.3%
SSCUP0 10100.0%
SSP0 5083.3%
Total:63 54091.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive