[S2M-293.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 4 Sep 2003 at 17:01

This looks like the vote on S2M-293.1

The description in the bulletin on 2003-09-04 is:

*S2M-293.1 Mary Scanlon: Closing the Opportunity Gap—As an amendment to motion (S2M-293) in the name of Ms Margaret Curran, leave out from "welcomes" to end and insert "notes with concern that waiting lists are getting longer, children are failing to meet education attainment levels, violent crime is increasing, anti-social behaviour is rising and our economy is lagging behind that of the rest of the United Kingdom; recognises that it is the poorest and most vulnerable in society that suffer most as they are trapped in failing schools, most likely to suffer from ill health and most likely to be victims of crime, and believes ultimately that only by reforming key public services through offering choice and decentralisation, whilst encouraging economic growth by cutting business rates, removing red tape and mutualising Scottish Water, can we close any opportunity gap and give the people of Scotland a better future.

You can search for this motion (S2M-293.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The second question is, that amendment S2M-293.1, in the name of Mary Scanlon, which seeks to amend motion S2M-293, in the name of Margaret Curran, on closing the opportunity gap, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16088.9%
Green1 0014.3%
Independent1 1066.7%
Lab47 0094.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP23 0088.5%
SSCUP0 10100.0%
SSP3 0050.0%
Total:91 18085.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive