[S2M-293] Decision Time — 4 Sep 2003 at 17:01

This looks like the vote on S2M-293

The description in the bulletin on 2003-09-03 is:

*S2M-293 Ms Margaret Curran: Closing the Opportunity Gap—That the Parliament welcomes the Executive's continuing commitment to breaking down the social, educational and economic barriers that create inequality and the commitment to working to end poverty by tackling deprivation and social needs, and notes that to close the opportunity gap the Executive will deliver community regeneration to build strong, safe and attractive communities; measures to increase financial inclusion to reduce debt, measures to improve standards of housing and to tackle homelessness and measures to overcome barriers to training and employment to increase participation in the labour market. Supported by: Mrs Mary Mulligan*

You can search for this motion (S2M-293) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that motion S2M-293, in the name of Margaret Curran, on closing the opportunity gap, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 15188.9%
Green1 0014.3%
Independent2 0066.7%
Lab47 0094.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP0 23088.5%
SSCUP1 00100.0%
SSP0 3050.0%
Total:67 41185.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John ScottAyrConabstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive