Northern Ireland (Monitoring Commission etc.) Bill [HL] — 15 Sep 2003 at 16:10

moved Amendment No. 16:

After Clause 5, insert the following new clause-


"After section 30A of the Northern Ireland Act 1998 (c. 47) there is inserted-


(1) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 30A, under exceptional circumstances the Secretary of State may by direction temporarily exclude a Minister or junior Minister.

(2) An exclusion under subsection (1) shall only remain in effect until either-

(a) a report from the Commission has been made; or

(b) the Assembly has considered a resolution under 30(1) or (2); or

(c) a period of two weeks has elapsed.

(3) In subsection (1) "exceptional circumstances" include where-

(a) there is insufficient time for the Commission to make a report; and

(b) there is insufficient time for the Assembly to consider a resolution under section 30(1) or (2).

(4) A direction made under this section shall be in writing and shall be laid before Parliament after the direction is given.""

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 16) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 129; Not-Contents, 117.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con87 (+1 tell) 040.9%
Crossbench4 87.0%
Independent Socialist1 0100.0%
Lab1 107 (+2 tell)57.0%
LDem32 (+1 tell) 051.6%
Total:125 11537.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Viscount Allenby of MegiddoCrossbenchaye
Lord Cooke of IslandreaghCrossbenchaye
Lord Molyneaux of KilleadCrossbenchaye
Viscount Slim Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Blood Labaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive