[S2M-456] Decision Time — 8 Oct 2003 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S2M-456

The description in the bulletin on 2003-10-07 is:

*S2M-456 Cathy Jamieson: Scottish Fire and Rescue Service - Proposals for Legislation—That the Parliament welcomes the Scottish Executive’s commitment to working with stakeholders to develop a fire and rescue service that is modern and effective with the principal aim of reducing risk; notes that the consultation paper The Scottish Fire and Rescue Service: Proposals for Legislation builds on the responses received to the first policy paper, and notes that the Executive will engage with stakeholders to modernise the service and work together to provide greater impetus to protect the public from fire to reduce Scotland’s poor record of fire fatalities. Supported by: Hugh Henry*

You can search for this motion (S2M-456) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is, that motion S2M-456, in the name of Cathy Jamieson, on proposals for legislation on the Scottish fire and rescue services, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 01266.7%
Green6 0085.7%
Independent1 0033.3%
Lab47 0094.0%
LDem15 0088.2%
SNP0 02388.5%
SSCUP1 00100.0%
SSP0 3050.0%
Total:70 33584.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive