Hunting Bill: procedural motion — 28 Oct 2003 at 23:04

A vote to cease the day's consideration of the Hunting Bill in the light of advice from Giovernment whips that no more time would be allowed for debate on the Bill.

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 74; Not-Contents, 34.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con48 1128.0%
Crossbench12 28.2%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab5 18 (+2 tell)13.4%
LDem5 (+2 tell) 010.9%
Total:71 3116.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Blatch Conno
Lord Brooke of Sutton MandevilleCon (front bench)no
Baroness Fookes Con (front bench)no
Lord Hurd of WestwellConno
Lord King of BridgwaterConno
Lord Mayhew of TwysdenCon (front bench)no
Baroness Miller of HendonConno
Lord Moynihan Conno
Lord Renton of Mount HarryConno
The Earl of SelborneCon (front bench)no
Lord Skelmersdale Con (front bench)no
Baroness Warnock Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Williamson of HortonCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Donoughue Labaye
Lord Howie of TroonLabaye
Lord Kirkhill Labaye
Baroness Mallalieu Lab (minister)aye
Lord Randall of St BudeauxLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive