Cannabis — reclassification from class B to class C — 29 Oct 2003 at 15:17

The majority of MPs voted to reclassify cannabis from a class B to a class C drug.[1][2]

They did this by passing an order[3] to change its listing in the Misuse of Drugs Act 1971.[4][5]

This policy was reversed in 2008 in a vote[6] in which most Labour MPs switched sides, whereas the Conservative and LibDem parties remained consistent.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 138 (+2 tell)085.9%
DUP0 1020.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Independent Ulster Unionist0 30100.0%
Lab276 (+2 tell) 11070.8%
LDem37 2072.2%
PC2 0050.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP1 0020.0%
UUP0 30100.0%
Total:316 160073.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabno
George MudieLeeds EastLab (minister)no
Mrs Anne PickingEast LothianLabno
John RobertsonGlasgow AnnieslandLab (minister)no
Jim SheridanWest RenfrewshireLab (minister)no
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabno
Mr Jimmy WrayGlasgow BailliestonLabno
Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
Bob RussellColchesterLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive