Fire Services Bill — 3 Nov 2003 at 23:41

[Amendment No. 2 not moved.]

moved Amendment No. 3:

Page 2, line 24, at end insert-

"(7A) For the avoidance of doubt it is declared that an act done in contemplation or furtherance of a trade dispute which is otherwise not actionable in tort by reason of Part V of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 (c. 52), shall not be actionable in tort on the ground only-

(a) that it constitutes a contravention of, or non-compliance with, a statutory duty imposed by an order made under this Act, or

(b) that it constitutes an inducement to commit, or agreement or combination to commit, or threatens to commit or induce, any such contravention or non-compliance.

(7B) In subsection (7A) "an act" includes a deliberate failure to act."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 3) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 8; Not-Contents, 69.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con10 04.7%
Lab55 (+2 tell) 3 (+2 tell)32.3%
LDem0 34.7%
Total:65 616.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Davies of CoityLabaye
Lord Hoyle Labaye
Lord McCarthy Labtellaye
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabtellaye
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive