"Prisoners Liable to Removal from United Kingdom:Modifications of Criminal Justice Act 1991 — 11 Nov 2003 at 17:22

Schedule 19 [Determination of minimum term in relation to mandatory life sentence]:

moved Amendment No. 225B:

Page 290, line 25, leave out from "orientation" to end of line 28 and insert "if it is committed in circumstances falling within subsection (2)(a)(i) or (b)(i) of section (Increase in sentence for offence aggravated by reference to disability or sexual orientation)."

On Question, amendment agreed to.

moved Amendment No. 225C:

Page 290, line 29, at end insert-

"Nothing in this Schedule shall fetter the judge's own discretion in the individual case to set the sentence he thinks is appropriate."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 225C) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 69; Not-Contents, 115.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con1 31.9%
Crossbench4 23 (+1 tell)16.4%
Green0 1100.0%
Lab107 (+2 tell) 762.4%
LDem0 33 (+1 tell)53.1%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:113 6729.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Forsyth of DrumleanConno
Lord Ampthill Crossbenchno
Lord Bhatia Crossbenchno
Lord Lloyd of BerwickCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Strange Crossbenchno
Lord Clinton-Davis Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Lord Morgan Lab (minister)aye
Lord Morris of AberavonLabaye
Lord Prys-Davies Labaye
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabaye
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive