Criminal Justice Bill — change to Abolition of Death Penalty Act 1965 — 17 Nov 2003 at 17:06

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws voted in the minority (Content).

moved Amendment No. 73:

Before Clause 241, insert the following new clause-


In section 1(1) of the Murder (Abolition of Death Penalty) Act 1965 (c. 71) (abolition of death penalty for murder), for the word "sentenced" there is substituted "liable"."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 73) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 92; Not-Contents, 116.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a not-for-profit free service. However, it does cost us money to 'keep the lights on'. To do this cheaply, we get our 100% renewable electricity from Bulb - who tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six' electricity suppliers and will give us and YOU £50 credit if you switch your gas and electricity to them using our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con5 2011.8%
Crossbench3 25 (+2 tell)17.5%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab105 (+2 tell) 660.8%
LDem0 3656.3%
Other1 07.7%
Total:114 8932.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Anelay of St JohnsConno
Lord Fowler Conno
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConno
Lord Skelmersdale Con (front bench)no
Lord Stewartby Conno
Viscount Allenby of MegiddoCrossbenchno
Lord Marsh Crossbenchno
Viscount Tenby Crossbenchno
Lord Borrie Labaye
Lord Brennan Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Baroness Mallalieu Lab (minister)aye
Lord Morris of AberavonLab (minister)aye
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. We're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive