[S2M-625] Decision Time — 20 Nov 2003 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-625

The description in the bulletin on 2003-11-19 is:

*S2M-625 Carolyn Leckie: Poverty in Scotland—That the Parliament recognises that only in an independent socialist Scotland will the obscene poverty and inequality that scars our nation be permanently tackled; recognises, however, that the limited powers available to it currently must be utilised fully to tackle the root causes of poverty as effectively as possible; accepts that it has complete power over pay and conditions in the public sector which involves almost 500,000 workers; resolves, in order to eradicate low pay and improve working conditions, to introduce a public sector minimum wage set at the internationally recognised European decency threshold and a maximum working week of 35 hours to tackle the socially destructive long hours culture which currently pervades too many Scottish workplaces; believes that a £7.50 per hour minimum wage and 35 hours a week policy funded by the abolition of Scottish Enterprise and full utilisation of existing block grant will eradicate low pay in the public sector and help increase wages in the private sector, and resolves to continue collectively the push for full independence and democratic control over Scotland’s vast wealth and resources to improve the standard and quality of life of all Scotland’s citizens.

The description in the bulletin on 2003-11-20 is:

S2M-625 Poverty in Scotland (lodged on 18 November 2003) Tommy Sheridan*

You can search for this motion (S2M-625) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that motion S2M-625, in the name of Carolyn Leckie, on poverty in Scotland, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 01794.4%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent0 1166.7%
Lab46 1094.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP0 22084.6%
SSP0 5083.3%
Total:62 361891.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Elaine SmithCoatbridge and ChrystonLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive