[S2M-618.3.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 20 Nov 2003 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-618.3.1

The description in the bulletin on 2003-11-20 is:

*S2M-618.3.1 Mike Rumbles: World Peace-As an amendment to amendment (S2M-618.3) in the name of Mr John Home Robertson, leave out from "reasserts" to end and insert "acknowledges the deep feeling aroused by the State visit of the US President George W Bush; believes that initiating military action in Iraq without a clear UN mandate was wrong, and recognises the opportunity presented by the visit to make clear the public's wish that those who initiated the war have a duty, under the supervision of the UN, to make Iraq safe and give its people the opportunity of a democratic future, that the British citizens in Guantanamo Bay are either charged and receive a fair trial or are sent home to face justice within the UK, and that the promise to continue the unremitting search for peace in the Middle East with security for Israel and justice for the Palestinians must be honoured."

You can search for this motion (S2M-618.3.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that amendment S2M-618.3.1, in the name of Mike Rumbles, which seeks to amend amendment S2M-618.3, in the name of John Home Robertson, on world peace, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con17 0094.4%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab44 0394.0%
LDem0 16094.1%
SNP0 22084.6%
SSP0 5083.3%
Total:61 52391.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Susan DeaconEdinburgh East and MusselburghLababstention
Marlyn GlenNorth East ScotlandLababstention
Elaine SmithCoatbridge and ChrystonLababstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive