[S2M-618] Decision Time — 20 Nov 2003 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-618

The description in the bulletin on 2003-11-19 is:

*S2M-618 Tommy Sheridan: World Peace—That the Parliament opposes the state visit to the UK by George W Bush; deplores the complicity and subservience of the Prime Minister, Tony Blair, who now shares the responsibility for the deaths of tens of thousands of Iraqis and dozens of British service personnel; considers that the UK Parliament and the Scottish Parliament were deceived into backing an illegal, immoral and unjustified war; believes that the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan have turned the world into a more dangerous and unstable place than ever before; agrees to send messages of support to the many thousands of protestors participating in the "Stop Bush" UK national demonstrations in London, Edinburgh and Glasgow, and recommends that the International Court of Justice should place George W Bush and Tony Blair on trial for war crimes. Supported by: Frances Curran*

You can search for this motion (S2M-618) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that motion S2M-618, in the name of Tommy Sheridan, on world peace, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con17 0094.4%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab43 0494.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP0 02284.6%
SSP0 5083.3%
Total:76 132690.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Susan DeaconEdinburgh East and MusselburghLababstention
Marlyn GlenNorth East ScotlandLababstention
Pauline McNeillGlasgow KelvinLababstention
Elaine SmithCoatbridge and ChrystonLababstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive