European Parliamentary and Local Elections (Pilots) Bill — Clause 4 — Electoral Commission report — 16 Dec 2003 at 18:53

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read the Third time.

Many hon. Members have contributed significantly during the Bill's passage through the House, especially by effective scrutiny in Committee. It is also worth commenting briefly on several other initiatives as we conclude the consideration of the Bill. First, I wish to put on record my appreciation of all members of the Committee, especially those who have also contributed to the debate today, for generating useful ideas and assisting the development of policy.

Question put, That the Bill be now read the Third time:-

The House divided: Ayes 304, Noes 166.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 119 (+1 tell)073.6%
Independent1 0050.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Independent Ulster Unionist0 2066.7%
Lab295 (+2 tell) 1073.0%
LDem1 42 (+1 tell)081.5%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP2 0040.0%
UUP1 1066.7%
Total:304 166073.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Charles KennedyRoss, Skye and Inverness WestLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive