Future of the Post Office Network — Deplores the programme — rejected — 13 Jan 2004 at 18:50

The majority of MPs voted against the motion:[1]

  • This House
  • deplores the programme to close 3,000 urban post offices because closure decisions are being made without taking adequately into account the needs of post office customers;
  • believes that honourable Members are insufficiently consulted when proposed closures are announced;
  • regrets the lack of time available to provide for a full consultation period and the failure of the consultation process to influence the closure programme;
  • condemns the Government as the sole shareholder of Royal Mail plc's wholly-owned subsidiary, The Post Office Ltd., for its failure to intervene in order to rectify the way in which the Urban Reinvention Programme is being implemented;
  • expresses its great concern about the programme to implement Post Office card accounts, which is failing to reflect the needs of customers, especially for the most vulnerable, including elderly and disabled people;
  • calls on the Government to give a firm indication that an Exceptions Service will be introduced and to provide the House with the details of how such a system will operate after 2005; and
  • further calls on the Government to make a statement on the sustainability of the funding of rural post offices beyond 2006.

A replacement motion in favour of Government policy was proposed in its place.[2]

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 144 (+2 tell)089.6%
DUP0 5083.3%
Independent1 0050.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab325 (+2 tell) 0080.1%
LDem0 46085.2%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 3060.0%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:326 205082.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive