[S2M-849.3 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 5 Feb 2004 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S2M-849.3

The description in the bulletin on 2004-02-05 is:

*S2M-849.3 Hugh Henry: Police Accountability-As an amendment to motion (S2M-849) in the name of David McLetchie, leave out from "notes" to end and insert "endorses the Scottish Executive's commitment to work for a safer Scotland by reducing crime and re-offending; welcomes its commitment to enhance community accountability for policing through local police boards; endorses its promotion of responsiveness to local communities through police boards' duty to secure Best Value and to report to the public on performance, and welcomes its policy of Community Planning which is enabling police forces to improve the delivery of services to local communities through more effective collaboration with other public bodies." Supported by: Cathy Jamieson*

You can search for this motion (S2M-849.3) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that amendment S2M-849.3, in the name of Hugh Henry, which seeks to amend motion S2M-849, in the name of David McLetchie, on police accountability, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 17094.4%
Green0 07100.0%
Independent2 0066.7%
Lab46 0092.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP0 25096.2%
SSP0 5083.3%
Total:64 47792.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive