[S2M-855] Decision Time — 5 Feb 2004 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S2M-855

The description in the bulletin on 2004-02-04 is:

*S2M-855 Murdo Fraser: The Scottish Economy—That the Parliament notes with concern the consistent underperformance of the Scottish economy relative to that of the UK as a whole; recognises that the burdens of higher rates, water charges and regulation faced by businesses in Scotland are factors contributing to this underperformance, and calls upon the Scottish Executive to take immediate steps to create a more business friendly environment by reducing business rates and water charges and cutting red tape, thereby encouraging business development, improving the outlook for economic growth, and contributing to a reverse in Scotland’s trend of population decline.

You can search for this motion (S2M-855) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that motion S2M-855, in the name of Murdo Fraser, on the Scottish economy, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 17094.4%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent1 0166.7%
Lab46 0092.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP0 25096.2%
SSP0 5083.3%
Total:63 54192.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive