Asylum and Immigration (Treatment of Claimants, Etc.) Bill — New Clause 8 — Initial decisions — 1 Mar 2004 at 21:29

'(1) Initial decisions by the Secretary of State on asylum applications shall be made and notified to the applicant within six weeks of the application being made.

(2) Notice of appeal from the decision of the Secretary of State to the Asylum and Immigration Tribunal ("the Tribunal")-

(a) must be made in writing;

(b) must be lodged with the Tribunal within 14 days of the decision appealed against, and

(c) must list all the grounds on which the appeal is made.

(3) Within 14 days of receipt of the notice of appeal the Tribunal shall hold a direction hearing at which all parties to the appeal shall be present.'.-[Mr. Malins.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

Motion made, and Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 179, Noes 317.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 123 (+2 tell)077.2%
DUP0 1016.7%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab316 (+2 tell) 0077.9%
LDem0 46085.2%
PC0 3075.0%
SNP0 4080.0%
UUP1 1040.0%
Total:317 179077.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive