European Parliamentary and Local Elections (Pilots) Bill — Lords amendment 1D — 24 Mar 2004 at 17:30

I beg to move, That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 1D to Commons amendment 1C.

The amendment would abrogate the powers of this House of Commons and the Government to decide which regions to select for all-postal voting in the forthcoming local and European elections in June, and pass that decision to the Electoral Commission. It is yet another attempt by the other place to overturn the will of this House of Commons. It would be a nonsensical position for this House to adopt.

Question put, That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 1D to Commons amendment 1C:-

The House divided: Ayes 308, Noes 185.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 130 (+2 tell)081.5%
DUP0 3050.0%
Independent Conservative0 1050.0%
Lab300 (+2 tell) 1074.3%
LDem1 46087.0%
PC3 0075.0%
SNP4 0080.0%
UUP0 4080.0%
Total:308 185076.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLab (minister)no
Matthew TaylorTruro and St AustellLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive