Asylum and Immigration (Treatment of Claimants, etc.) Bill — Give asylum seekers more time to appeal — rejected — 7 Jun 2004 at 15:50

The majority Content voters accepted an amendment[1] to the Asylum and Immigration (Treatment of Claimants, etc.) Bill. The amendment increased the amount of time an asylum seeker had to lodge an appeal against their rejected claim to 10 working days[2].

Even though this amendment was passed it was modified again at a later date. As a result when the Asylum and Immigration (Treatment of Claimants, etc.) Bill became law in 2004 the time in which asylum seekers had to appeal was reduced to five days[3].

The Act's main aims were to:[4]

  • Simplify the process of appeal for asylum seekers
  • Criminalise people who arrive into the UK without a valid travel document unless they have a reasonable excuse
  • Stop supporting failed asylum seekers and their families if they do not leave the UK
  • Allow the government to tag and track asylum seekers
  • Provide accommodation to failed asylum seekers who cannot return home immediately


Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop3 011.5%
Con84 (+1 tell) 040.9%
Crossbench24 114.8%
Green1 0100.0%
Lab1 90 (+2 tell)50.3%
LDem28 (+1 tell) 046.0%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:141 9236.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Marsh Crossbenchno
Lord Plant of HighfieldLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive