[S2M-1733] Decision Time — 23 Sep 2004 at 16:55

This looks like the vote on S2M-1733

The description in the bulletin on 2004-09-22 is:

*S2M-1733 Mr Frank McAveety: A Sporting Scotland is a Successful Scotland— That the Parliament recognises the significant progress made since devolution in increasing participation in sport through the investment in active schools and the Scottish Executive’s commitment to ensure that every child has at least two hours of high quality physical education; celebrates the continuing success of Scotland’s sportsmen and women, particularly the medallists at the recent Olympics and those competing for medals at the Paralympics currently under way in Athens, of Andrew Murray at the US Open and most recently of Colin Montgomerie as part of the successful European team in the Ryder Cup; endorses the Executive’s ambitions to attract major sporting events in Scotland, building on the successful rugby U21 World Cup; recognises the Executive’s ambitions to invest in sports facilities for all talents and abilities, and seeks the support of all partners in meeting the challenges set out in Sport 21, the national strategy for sport in Scotland.

You can search for this motion (S2M-1733) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is, that motion S2M-1733, in the name of Frank McAveety, on a sporting Scotland is a successful Scotland, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 01583.3%
Green7 00100.0%
Independent3 0075.0%
Lab47 0094.0%
LDem14 0082.4%
SNP0 0520.0%
SSCUP0 01100.0%
SSP0 0350.0%
Total:71 02474.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive